What are the 5 main islands of Indonesia?

The largest islands are Sumatra, Java, Kalimantan (Indonesian Borneo), Sulawesi, and the Indonesian part of New Guinea (known as Papua or Irian Jaya).

How many islands make up Indonesia called 5?

It comprises five main islands: Sumatra, Java, Borneo (known as Kalimantan in Indonesia), Sulawesi, and New Guinea; two major island groups (Nusa Tenggara and the Maluku Islands) and sixty smaller island groups.

What is the fifth largest island in Indonesia?

Java Island

As the fifth largest island in Indonesia, Java island sure is a crowded place to live. With the width of 126,7 km per square, we have over 126 million people scattered around the island making up 60 percent of the whole population of Indonesia.

What are the 2 largest islands of Indonesia?

The Biggest Islands Of Indonesia

Rank Island Area
1 New Guinea (shared with Papua New Guinea) 303,381 square miles
2 Borneo (shared with Brunei and Malaysia) 288,869 square miles
3 Sumatra 184,954 square miles
4 Sulawesi 69,761 square miles
THIS IS FUN:  What is a good depreciation rate for a car Singapore?

What 6 countries make up Indonesia?

Major islands

  • Greater Sunda Islands. Java, formerly Jawa Dwipa. Sumatra, formerly Swarna Dwipa. Borneo: divided between the Indonesian region Kalimantan, the country of Brunei and the country of Malaysia’s states of Sabah and Sarawak. Sulawesi, formerly Celebes.
  • Lesser Sunda Islands. Bali. Lombok. Sumbawa. Flores. Sumba.

How many main islands are there in Indonesia?

Indonesia is the largest archipelago in the world. It consists of five major islands and about 30 smaller groups.

What is the smallest island of Indonesia?

List of Indonesian islands by area

Island’s name Area (km2) Area (sq mi)
New Guinea 785,753 303,381
Borneo 748,168 288,869
Sumatra 473,481 184,954
Sulawesi 180,681 69,761

Is Indonesia the largest island in the world?

Indonesia is the world’s largest island country and the 14th-largest country by area, at 1,904,569 square kilometres (735,358 square miles). With about 270 million people, Indonesia is the world’s fourth-most populous country and the most populous Muslim-majority country.

Which island is the westernmost major island of Indonesia?

Sumatra is the westernmost major island of Indonesia.

Is Bali the biggest island?

The provincial capital, Denpasar, is the most populous city in the Lesser Sunda Islands and the second-largest, after Makassar, in Eastern Indonesia. The upland town of Ubud in Greater Denpasar is considered Bali’s cultural centre.


show Bali
Website baliprov.go.id

How many islands does Greece have?

Greece Has 227 Islands.

Why does Indonesia have so many islands?

Indonesia has so many islands it has never been able to fully count or name them. A 1996 law estimated the number of islands in the world’s biggest archipelago at 17,508.

THIS IS FUN:  What is the number of moves required in the Tower of Hanoi problem for K disks?

How many islands make up Malaysia?

Malaysia has 878 islands, ranging from the inhabited and accessible to the lonely and remote. Along the west coast of the peninsula you can find the popular island of Langkawi, with tropical beaches and luxurious resorts, and also the island of Penang, with colonial architecture and pristine rainforest.

Is Indonesia a poor or rich country?

As a lower-middle income country and member of the G20, Indonesia is classified as a newly industrialized country. It is the 15th largest economy in the world by nominal GDP and the 7th largest in terms of GDP (PPP).

What does Nesia mean?

nesia means island. for example. Polynesia means many or groups of islands. Indonesia means Indian/Hindu origin island.

What was Indonesia called before?

Indonesia was formerly known as the Dutch East Indies (or Netherlands East Indies).