Your question: Which is the first MRT line in Singapore?

The North-South Line, also known as the NSL or Red line, is Singapore’s oldest MRT line.

What is the first MRT station?

On Nov. 7, 1987, Singapore’s Mass Rapid Transit (MRT) system began operations. The first five MRT stations was on the North South Line and was merely 6km long. The first five stations that opened were Yio Chu Kang, Ang Mo Kio, Bishan, Braddell and Toa Payoh.

When was the first MRT line in Singapore?

On 7 November 1987, a five-station segment from Toa Payoh to Yio Chu Kang opened its doors to the first passengers. Thousands of curious Singaporeans came to try out the MRT on the first day alone. A month later, on 12 December 1987, nine more stations were added from Novena to Outram Park.

What is the longest MRT line in Singapore?

East-West Line: East meets west and beyond. Crossing the island from Tuas Link to Pasir Ris, and measuring about 57km, the East-West Line (EWL) is the longest train line in operation in Singapore.

THIS IS FUN:  Do Philippines use forks?

When did circle line start?

Circle MRT line

Circle Line
Opened 28 May 2009 (Stage 3) 17 April 2010 (Stages 1 and 2) 8 October 2011 (Stages 4 and 5) 14 January 2012 (Circle Line extension)
Line length 35.5 km (22.1 mi) (Operational) 4 km (2.5 mi) (Under construction)
Character Fully Underground

How old is red line?

A 252-car order from CRRC is being built from 2019 to 2024. The Red Line is fully grade-separated; trains are driven by operators with automatic train control for safety.

Red Line (MBTA)

Red Line
Opened March 23, 1912
Line length 11.5 mi (18.5 km) Alewife–Ashmont 17.5 mi (28.2 km) Alewife–Braintree 22.5 mi (36.2 km) total

How many MRT lines are there in Singapore?

Currently, there are 5 MRT lines in Singapore covering over 152.9 km of route together with 113 stations in service, with more MRT lines and extensions under planning and construction by the Land Transport Authority. Train services are provided by public transport operators (PTOs) SBS Transit and SMRT Trains.

Who invented SMRT?

SMART goals were developed by George Doran, Arthur Miller and James Cunningham in their 1981 article “There’s a S.M.A.R.T. way to write management goals and objectives” . Specific, Measurable, Attainable, Realistic and Timely (SMART) Specific: What are you trying to do?

Who built Singapore MRT?

The first 6 kilometres of the North South Line between Yio Chu Kang and Toa Payoh was opened on 7 November 1987, marking a milestone in Singapore MRT history.


Date Sector opened
12 March 1988 Tiong Bahru – Clementi (EWL) System officially launched by Mr Lee Kuan Yew, then Prime Minister of Singapore
THIS IS FUN:  Is Cambodia densely populated?

What is the deepest MRT station in Singapore?

Bencoolen Station

At 43 metres below ground, it is the deepest MRT station in Singapore. The station had to be constructed at such depth as existing infrastructures had to be taken into consideration including buildings on the street level, as well as the underground North-South Line (NSL) and CCL tunnels.

Which line is Dover MRT?

Dover MRT station is an elevated Mass Rapid Transit (MRT) station on the East West line in Queenstown planning area, Singapore, located along Commonwealth Avenue West.

Is Green Line fast?

Come March 9, the time it takes to travel via the Green Line train from Target Field Station to Union Depot will shrink to 45 minutes. The Green Line carries an average of 33,500 riders per weekday.

When was Green Line built?

Green Line (MBTA)

Green Line
Opened September 1, 1897 (Tremont Street subway)
Line length 23 miles (37 km)
Character Subway, grade-separated ROW, street running

Who founded MRT?

On 12 March the following year, then Prime Minister Lee Kuan Yew officially launched the MRT system, which saw the opening of another six stations from Tiong Bahru to Clementi on the East-West Line. 1. Dhaliwal, R., & Lim, M. (1987, November 8).

Who built the Circle Line?

Alstom Metropolis C830 trainsets form the Circle Line rolling stock. A total of 40 trainsets were ordered, as part of turnkey Contract C830, and are stabled at Kim Chuan Depot. They are built in France by Alstom between 2006–2008.

When did the East West line start?

East West MRT line

THIS IS FUN:  Question: How can I retire to Indonesia?
East West line
Opened 12 December 1987 (as part of North South line) 4 November 1989 (renamed as East West line) 6 July 1990 (Initial line complete) 10 January 2001 (Expo) 18 October 2001 (Dover) 8 February 2002 (Changi Airport) 28 February 2009 (Boon Lay extension) 18 June 2017 (Tuas West extension)