How many chief justices has Singapore had?

How many chief justices were there?

Since the formation of the Court in 1790, there have been only 17 Chief Justices* and 103 Associate Justices, with Justices serving for an average of 16 years.

Who was Singapore’s first non British Chief Justice?

Menon was appointed a Judge of Appeal of the Court of Appeal with effect from 1 August 2012. On 6 November 2012, he took office as Singapore’s fourth Chief Justice. He is the first non-Chinese ethnic Chief Justice of the Republic of Singapore and also the first Singapore-born Chief Justice.

Who is the first Chief Justice of Singapore?

Wee Chong Jin

Wee Chong Jin DUBC
1st Chief Justice of Singapore
In office 5 January 1963 – 27 September 1990
Appointed by Yusof Ishak

Who are the 8 chief justices?

The 9 current justices of the US Supreme Court

  • Chief Justice John Roberts. Chief Justice John Roberts. …
  • Justice Clarence Thomas. Associate Justice Clarence Thomas. …
  • Justice Stephen Breyer. …
  • Justice Samuel Alito. …
  • Justice Sonia Sotomayor. …
  • Justice Elena Kagan. …
  • Justice Neil Gorsuch. …
  • Justice Brett Kavanaugh.
THIS IS FUN:  Question: How many hours travel from Korea to Manila?

Are there always 9 justices?

The Supreme Court has had nine justices since 1869, but that wasn’t always the case. In fact, the number of justices in the court fluctuated fairly often between its inception and 1869. Of course, the story of the court dates back to 1787 and the founding of the U.S. government system as we know it today.

How much does the chief justice earn in Singapore?

The Chief Justice – S$347,400. Every Judge of Appeal – S$253,200. Every other Judge of the Supreme Court – S$234,600.

Is Singapore ceded or settled?

In 1824 an Anglo-Dutch treaty left Malaya and Singapore in the British sphere, and in August the whole of Singapore Island was ceded to the British for a monetary payment. Two years later Singapore, Penang, and Malacca (Melaka) were combined as the Straits Settlements to form an outlying residency of India.

Who makes the law in Singapore?

Legislation or statutory laws are written laws enacted by the Singapore Parliament or other bodies that had power to pass such laws in the past in Singapore. Subsidiary legislation or subordinate legislation refers to written law made by ministers, government agencies or statutory boards.

Who appoints the chief judge?

The Chief Justice of India and the Judges of the Supreme Court are appointed by the President under clause (2) of Article 124 of the Constitution.

What is the role of Chief Justice Singapore?

The chief justice is responsible for the operation of the entire judicial system. He is president of the Court of Appeal, the apex of Singapore’s judicial hierarchy, which, together with the High Court, forms the Supreme Court. … – He recommends to the president all registrars for the Supreme Court and the State Courts.

THIS IS FUN:  You asked: What kind of fish are in the Philippines?

What is the total number of justices composing the Supreme Court including the Chief of justice?

Present-day Supreme Court. Pursuant to the provisions of the 1987 Constitution, the Supreme Court is composed of a chief Justice and 14 associate justices who serve until the age of 70. The court may sit en banc or in one of its three divisions composed of five members each.

Who are the 9 justices on the Supreme Court list?

Current Members

  • John G. Roberts, Jr., Chief Justice of the United States, …
  • Clarence Thomas, Associate Justice, …
  • Stephen G. Breyer, Associate Justice, …
  • Samuel A. Alito, Jr., Associate Justice, …
  • Sonia Sotomayor, Associate Justice, …
  • Elena Kagan, Associate Justice, …
  • Neil M. Gorsuch, Associate Justice,

What religion are the 9 Supreme Court Justices?


Name Religion On the Court since
John Roberts (Chief Justice) Catholicism 2005
Clarence Thomas Catholicism 1991
Stephen Breyer Judaism 1994
Samuel Alito Catholicism 2006

How many justices are on the Supreme Court 2021?

Nine Justices make up the current Supreme Court: one Chief Justice and eight Associate Justices. The Honorable John G.